BOOKTALK// The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

you and meLucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marvellingat the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the centre of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

I got this book digitally from NetGalley in exchange for a review. When it popped up in my inbox I knew I just had to jump on it. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight was such a wonderful love story that I wasn’t expecting to be so freaking awesome and I was very excited to read more of Smith’s work.

This story did not disappoint. I was absolutely taken with both of the characters. Both Lucy and Owen have such distinct voices which made each chapter a pleasure to read, the clear definition between each of them was just perfection. The revelations of each of their back stories towards the beginning of the book was also handled very well. The temptation here could be to info dump so that the story could carry on, but Smith delicately weaves their stories into conversations and flashbacks throughout that are compelling and often heartfelt.

The second part of this book is where the long-distance aspect kicks in. It is so brilliant to see these two characters living completely different lives while still being completely besotted with one another. It put me in mind of David Nicholls’ incredible book One Day. In One Day Emma and Dexter are apart for much of the book but you are still rooting for them and still wishing them well. You get mad when they are with other people but, ultimately, want the characters to be happy. This book gave me the same vibe. I was just so incredibly invested in Lucy and Owen and their relationship throughout the book.

I started reading this book on Friday afternoon and I did not put it down until it was finished. A wonderful romance that travels around the world and back again. Absolutely stunning. I loved it. It is One Day for teens!

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith comes out on the 15th April 2014. It is great for fans of Eleanor & Park and Anna and the French Kiss.

★★★★½

Waterstones/HIVE

Leave a Reply