BOOK REVIEW | All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

A gorgeous cover fora gorgeous book! *sighs contentedly*
A gorgeous cover fora gorgeous book! *sighs contentedly*

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Publisher: Penguin Books

Publication Date: 8th January 2015

Pages: 400

Acquisition: Sent for review

Holy heck did this book catch me off guard! Whenever a book gets compared to something as huge as The Fault In Our Stars or to one of my favourite books ever (this time Eleanor and Park) I get a bit nervous. This got compared to both, in fact, as a mixture of the two. Basically if Jennifer Niven had cocked this up, this review would have been very different.

But she didn’t! Jennifer Niven, and the marketing team who came up with that comparison, got it spot on! Like, completely.

When I read the synopsis I did do a massive eye roll because it all seemed a bit typical (soz) but this book managed to impressed me so hard. Everything about it was so well put together. I feel in love with both Violet and Finch in very different ways (Ugh! FINCH!!!! <3) because they were both so well drawn and well put together. They were both brilliantly flawed, but oh so loveable. I just want to hug them both and tell them it will be okay.

Niven also deals with some pretty hefty issues in this book. Bereavement, depression, issues of mortality and more. It is no easy task for an author to deal with such heaviness so sensitively and with such confidence. Niven takes it in her stride and keeps the book’s heart and soul in tact. It’s one of the many reasons I cried. You become so invested in the characters and the situation, and you get to know them both so well over the course of the book that they are more like close friends by the close. It is so difficult to say goodbye to Violet and Finch. They are both so wonderful.

Basically, believe the hype. It’s INCREDIBLE. This book is, in my opinion, better than The Fault In Our Stars. It is more real, the characters speak like actual teenagers most of the time, and it will tug on your heartstrings so hard. It’s beautiful and I sobbed, actual ugly crying sobs. I’d do it all again too.

★★★★★

Waterstones//HIVE//Wordery

Leave a Reply